Thugs with dirty mugs

The Muse works in mysterious ways. And I think I have proof. Now stay with me on this one as it’s a bit of a ramble…

So there I was watching some link I’d clicked on that had taken me to youtube and when the clip I was watching finished the next suggested clip started playing. It was a 1939 cartoon from the Merrie Melodies series (a companion series to Looney Tunes) called ‘Thugs with dirty mugs’ and the bank robber in it, Killer Diller, was supposedly played by Edward G Robemsome – who was a caricature of Edward G Robinson. Robinson was a famous actor during Hollywood’s Golden Age and is best remembered for his tough-guy gangster roles. A little research into Robinson later and hey presto! I had an idea for a piece. He also has a great art related quote attributed to him which has given me an idea for another piece:

“I have not collected art. Art collected me. I never found paintings. They found me. I have never even owned a work of art. They owned me.”

I couldn’t decide which of the two colour schemes I was toying with that I liked more so decided to just do them both. As a little nod to the cartoon that got me on the road to creation I’ve included the ‘Thugs in dirty mugs’ text as it appears on the cartoon credits. Both of these bad lads are A2 and will look lovely once framed. Get in touch if you’re interested…

Cheers

id-iom

 

Leave a comment

Filed under art, Painting, stencil

Leave a Reply

