Daily Archives: November 19, 2018

I Grow and I Rejoice

First up this week on eBay is ‘I Grow and I Rejoice’. You can check it on eBay on the link below:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/392175642333

Legend has it that shortly after Crawley was made a borough in 1974 the newly anointed mayor was presented with a modified coat of arms and a piece of art – both bearing Crawley’s motto ‘I grow and I rejoice’ (which, as I’m sure we all know is a translation of a phrase from the Epistulae of Seneca the Younger). The coat of arms has always been on display at the Town Hall whilst the art disappeared shortly after it’s initial presentation in somewhat murky circumstances during a drunken pub fight.

After investing a significant amount of time and effort in research and archaeology id-iom is proud to announce the recovery of this historically important document. It was discovered stuffed down the back seat of a decaying Ford Cortina. The people of Crawley can now rejoice however as the the art will soon be reunited with the coat of arms and the prophecy that has long been foretold may now come to pass.

Well, that’s my story and i’m sticking to it…

Cheers

id-iom

Title: I grow and I rejoice
Materials: Stencil, spraypaint, screen print & paint pen
Size: A3

Comments Off on I Grow and I Rejoice

Filed under art, Demolition Sale!, Painting, products, screenprint