In life, as in art…

In life, as in art...

In life, as in art…

The phrase ‘In life, as in art, the beautiful moves in curves’ was coined by Edward Bulwer-Lytton who was a popular Victorian novelist, poet, playwright and politician. Apparently he also coined the phrases “the great unwashed”, “pursuit of the almighty dollar”, “the pen is mightier than the sword”, “dweller on the threshold” as well as the infamous opening line “It was a dark and stormy night”. The man deserves some props for such wordsmithery. Anyway if we fast forward about 150 years we find Sir Mix-A-Lot’s seminal hit ‘Baby got back’ which has the immortal opening line ‘I love big butts and I cannot lie’. Personally I think Mr Lot was merely expanding on Bulwer-Lytton’s line of thinking in his 1992 paean of decency and good taste but I have little to prove this theory. Apart from this picture. Which I think is compelling enough. Case closed.

This piece is another of our upcycled pieces and was, I think, originally a print of the Mona Lisa but when I found it it had some kind of pink wash on it and a hastily drawn stick figure face. Given my proclivity for wombling this was clearly not something that I could overlook and just leave lying forlornly in the street so I scooped her and took her home for some much need care and attention at the id-iom art hospital.

Cheers

id-iom

Comments Off on In life, as in art…

Filed under art, Graffiti, Painting, street art

Comments are closed.